I Learned the Cup Song!

Now, I’ve never been one to give in to fads… I never did planking, the Harlem Shake, and didn’t even see Gangnam Style until a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve always been the kind that likes to make fun of people who do that stuff, yet secretly wishes I could be a part of it…. I mean, if I don’t, what crazy stories will I have to tell my children?!?!?  

But the Cup Song seemed a nice segway.   I love to sing, and I love rhythm games!  Perfect!!  

Here’s a quick history of the Cup Song:  The song itself is actually one from the 1930s, and the rhythm was from a classic cup game.  The two were put together by Lu Lu and the Lampshades as a video on YouTube, which was then featured in the movie Pitch Perfect, performed by Anna Kendrick.  The movie made it extremely popular, and there are tons and tons of different cover versions of this song on YouTube.  I guess it’s especially popular among teenage girls, or something?

Anyways, I didn’t even consider learning it until this afternoon when I was working with a teenage girl who LOVES playing hand-games!  So I thought I’d show her the cup song.  While we were watching it, I started thinking “I want to learn this SO BADLY!!”  So as soon as I got home, I looked up some tutorials on YouTube, as well as other people’s rendition of it.  It took me about 1 hour to learn, and about 1 1/2 hours to master.  

SO MUCH FUN.  

Then I started thinking about my good friend, Jonathan, who’s going to be leaving in a few days to join the Navy, and how much he’s going to be missed, and how upset I was that I wasn’t able to make it to his going-away party tonight.  And THEN I thought “I could SING it to him!!!!”  I mean, the lyrics are somewhat appropriate for the situation…

So I posted the video on facebook, and tagged him in it, as kind of my way of singing it to him without making it awkward…  Because sometimes it can be awkward when someone’s just singing in your face…  

So Jonathan, you’d better feel special, because I’m super shy about posting videos on facebook!! 😉 We will miss you!

 

Leave a comment